1659 - 1708: The Founding of the Farm
In the seventeenth century, the Tailleferts were a prosperous family in the district of La Bri, in the Poitou-Charentes area of France. In 1688, they boarded the Dutch East India Company's ship, Oosterland, bound for the Cape. This farm was granted to Isaac Taillefert in 1691, which he placed in his son Jean's name.
In 1708, the Frenchman François Lequat published a book about his visit to the Cape, stating that their wine was "the best in the colony and similar to our small wines of Champagne."
1702 - 1972: The Name Laborie was Found
The Tailleferts sought to name their farm after the district of La Bri from which they originated but with regular use and colloquialism, the name Laborie finally emerged and stayed.
Through marriage, the farm passed into another French Huguenot family, the De Villiers' who sold Laborie on to the Louw family. All of these families played an integral role in developing Laborie.
1972 - Current: How the Quality of Laborie Grew
In 1972 KWV bought Laborie and set processes in place to turn it into a world class estate.
In 1977 the Manor House was proclaimed a national monument. Built in 1750, it is even described as the most important house in an architectural sense in the Paarl area. Today, the Manor House stands as a testimony to the past successes of Laborie.